Maroon 5
Derrick Dunn

Derrick Dunn

Maroon 5 rocks out at Jiffy Lube Live

Amid the COVID-19 pandemic, one of the industries to take a hit was live music. Maroon 5 was one of many acts who had to postpone their 2020 tour, however on September 7th, 2021, the band’s fans in the DMV finally got to experience it. Carrying the simple title the 2021 Tour, Maroon 5’s eleventh headlining tour was a night of tight musicianship and the pristine falsetto of frontman Adam Levine.


The band opened the show with their 2011 hit “Moves Like Jagger “. While Adam Levine’s dancing didn’t pay proper homage to Mick Jagger, Levine’s stage presence made up for it. From there, the group took it back to the 2002 debut Songs About Jane for a lively performance of “This Love”. Adam Levine then dipped into his features catalog for a performance of “Stereo Hearts”. At this point, I honestly expected Levine and the group to do a medley of Levine’s Hip Hop features. It would have been great to hear Levine sing his verses of Kanye West’s “Touch The Sky”, Ying Yang Twins “Live Again” or Lil Wayne’s “Trust Nobody”. Instead, though, the group kept it moving by performing songs from their seven-album catalog.


Ideally, just about any hit song you wanted to hear, was performed. My night was made when I heard “Sunday Morning”, while my wife was happy when she heard an acoustic version of “Payphone” and my son’s song of the night was “Don’t Wanna Know”. Despite the lukewarm critical response to the group’s latest album Jordi, “Beautiful Mistakes” and “Memories” both came across great live.


My first time seeing Maroon 5 was a fun night out. However, I did have a few complaints. The group’s opening act was Blackbear, and the less said about his performance, the better. Now it could be my forty years of age and my love of real Hip Hop, but whatever Blackbear was doing, just was not for me.  On the plus side though, my son seemed to enjoy his performance so I guess that is the silver lining.


For an opening act, I would have much preferred a short opening set by group member PJ Morton, who is an amazingly talented solo artist in his own right. In addition, my favorite Maroon 5 song, “Lost Stars” was not part of the setlist. Nevertheless though, Maroon 5’s DMV stop on their latest tour was a great way to spend a few hours.


Final Grade : B+


  1. Moves Like Jagger
  2. This Love
  3. Stereo Hearts
  4. One More Night
  5. Animals
  6. Love Somebody
  7. Makes Me Wonder
  8. What Lovers Do
  9. Wait
  10. Maps
  11. Harder to Breathe
  12. Payphone
  13. Lost
  14. Beautiful Mistakes
  15. Don’t Wanna Know
  16. Cold
  17. Sunday Morning
  18. Girls Like You
  19. Memories
  20. She Will Be Loved
  21. Sugar
Movie Clappers

More reviews to explorer

Single Review : Chris Brown, Sensational

As the highly anticipated release of his eleventh album, 11:11, draws near, R&B sensation Chris Brown recently dropped his second single, “Sensational,” much to the delight of his adoring fans.” Following the mid-tempo R&B vibes of the lead single “Summer Too Hot,” Brown links up with Davido and Lojay to craft a surprisingly infectious dancefloor bop.

Second Listen Sunday: Kut Klose

Yesterday, I highlighted the R&B trio Jade for Slow Jam Saturday, and for this week’s Second Listen Sunday, I wanted to show


© Copyright Reviews & Dunn. All rights reserved

website designed by Red Robin Digital designers